Bagua Map Feng Shui

Bagua Map Feng Shui and How to Use It?


Bagua map feng shui is a popular Taoist-based feng shui technique that uses the eight trigrams on the map to guide practitioners in decorating and organizing spaces.

This ancient Chinese practice has been adapted over time to accommodate modern lifestyles and can be used to improve any aspect of life, from relationships to work productivity.

In this article, we will explore how bagua map feng shui works and provide tips on how to use it in your home.

Table of Contents

What is Bagua Map Feng Shui?

In traditional Chinese medicine, feng shui is the study of the interaction of energy with space. Bagua map feng shui is a specific application of this theory that uses a map to find and address areas of imbalance in your home or office.

In fact, this system uses maps in order to improve the flow of Qi (energy) in a home or office. The practice is based on the Taoist belief that each location in the world has its own unique energy pattern, which can be affected by factors such as wind, water, earth, metal, and fire.

By understanding the principles and making minor adjustments to our environment, we can achieve a more harmonious and productive lifestyle.

At first, we need to explore the meaning of eight trigrams as it represents the backbone of bagua maps.

Eight Trigrams Meaning

The eight trigrams are born based on the yin and yang relationship. Yang is the male which represented by continuous solid line, and yin is the female which represented by discontinuous line.

Together, yang and yin are producing two children, and the final results is the production of four unique pairs. These eight trigrams are the maximum number of yang and yin and it known as bagua.

Bagua are the eight trigrams. “Ba” means “eight” and “gua” means “the result of divination”.

Bagua Map Feng Shui

While bagua map and the eight trigrams could be arranged in multiple ways, there are two sequences that are most important.

First: Before Heaven Sequence

Before Heaven map has all the eight Qi forces in balance with their counterparts. As example:

  • Heaven is balanced by earth.
  • Water is balanced by fire.
  • Father is balanced by mother.
  • Middle son is balanced by middle daughter.

Second: After Heaven Sequence

After-heaven map follow yin and yang cyclic sequence, and each one of the eight trigrams evolve naturally.

The after-heaven sequence is used in feng shui to analyze the movement of Qi (Energy) forces in any space.

How to Use the Bagua Map?

Bagua map is a tool used to help with the placement of furniture and objects in a room, as well as to determine the best direction for entrances and exits.

It is also used to help with the flow of energy in a space. There are eight basic areas include wealth, career, relationships, family, health, creativity, knowledge, and spiritual growth.

Conclusion: Bagua Map Feng Shui

The ancient art of feng shui is based on the theory that everything has a potential energy and that this energy can be directed to improve the quality of one’s life.

Applied correctly, feng shui can help to balance our environment, improve our home’s energy flow, and create a more harmonious living space.

There are many ways to apply the principles to our homes, but one of the most basic is the use of the bagua map.

Picture of Khames


I'm Khames, an interior designer and blogger. Here, I love to share my interior design ideas, favorite quotes, stories, and photography from my little journeys throughout the world.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments